RSS

A hint of success

23 Apr

yesterday  i just randomly decided ( was u checking for some new maps) to join rushes monsterhunt server and noticed the filename spzhal and was curious if he acually decided to port the zhal bug guy from ut  like i had , So i went to check my cache files, and discovered not only has he decided to use my zhal port ( which was bare bones and taunts not totaly working) but he also decided to use my rips of the xcom stuff , ie sectoid , sectopod , bassik , pysicicgaurd , armord drone. Witch I thought is awsome. I am even  cool with him renaming and changing the spzhal  and stuff. Theres a big grey area there since it ripped from a retail game so i cant take direct credit.. He choose to modify the names and projectiles using a mutator so the sectoid has 9000 health and shoots rockets. I was even able to play as the zhal on his server with a slight modification to the int files i had witch suprised many players . lol

it so cool to see that someone appreciates my work or at the least effort , It not much skill or work on my part im sure he knows this , as he contributed alot to the scene himself.

I posted that stuff for users to enjoy and use .  about maybe a year ago and haven’t had to much interest in finishing it yet.  all 20 of the pawns have been on my server since last year , and  , the sounds and textures are missing or corrupted,  The ballsijk has a bad transparenty flag  that gives it a hole, and everything but the sectoid has missing sounds due to a mis nameing error i made when  importing them separately.some have messed up models since i used umodel  and it adds a unique distance draw bug , So i have been reimporting some with utpt and routing around the bad frames as i fix the sounds in some pawns.

Thats one of the reasons i never pushed them  so to speak  , yeah they have been here for downlaod , and they are fully usable. but i never bother to point groups to them. like NPG or DU that could really use them.

Any way the fact that someone actually used them made me think about working on them some more , particularly fixing the issues with the zhal player , the taunts never worked due to me casting into player pawn while being a player pawn (wtf unrealsript?). And the claws where never imported even tho them were working decently.

So I made a bit of effort to to fix  and make it a more finished product. I spent a few hours  this morning and I added  the taunts as null say text , so you can just say them and the taunts will play and no text will be said. You can ‘ SAY zhalhelp’ to display the available taunts also i will add a option to have the default taunt keys play the taunts as well.

I re added tha zhal hands whitch currently do melee or sludge damage. i would really like to have the teleport working soon as well.The player pawn version will automatically give you the zhalhands when you spawn.

For the alternate pickup ‘costume’ version i made for non supporting gametypes, I added commands to use the taunts via ZTAUNT # , as well as ZSWAPSKIN # to change the multiskin.

 

The reminds me of the teddy model i never totaly finished as well… opps.I have so many projects that i started that are half usable and i walk away from them when i get bored or sidetracked.

I also notice a new sever today Italian xcoop , and a quick look at the cache challenge shows me he is using the lego guy skins i ripped , so im happy things i do are being used.

also it kinda interesting certian pieces fell together , lucas was asking me for assualt maps and i couldnt find them. in my short cache checking effeort i realized rush is using redirects and since I have devnet unsupressed , It sent me the link to his redirect site, so i was able to have access to all the assualt maps in uz format  from the redirect , a quick job to write a batch decompresser macro and i had all the maps i wanted in minutes.along with stuff that i spent hours porting myself just to find rush already did it… another win.

also this gave me a new avenue to address , when i add dependency checking to yact3 , I can point users to the redirect to downlaod missing files.

All this good stuff after i almost decided to shutdown and walk away last week due to lack of players.

yay for a day off tho , but it raining lol

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

